Photo: emx_20200212_mot_sports_harwell_p1_

Mooresville’s Steve Harwell displays Richard S. Tufts Award keepsake trophy recognizing him as the organization’s Men’s Senior Player of the Year. ( 

A year of success such as the one enjoyed out on the competitive golf course by Mooresville’s Steve Harwell does not happen very often.

Harwell now has something in safe keeping to permanently display in his personal trophy case helping to remind him of just that fact.

Harwell was the recipient of the Carolinas Golf Association’s prestigious Richard S. Tufts Award recognizing him as the multi-state organization’s Men’s Senior Player of the Year. It marked the first-time ever in his golfing career that he has been so singled-out for his success.

The official recognition took place at the CGA’s annual awards banquet held earlier this month.

For Harwell, the distinction came following one of the most accomplished single seasons of CGA competition on the part of any past participant.

He captured his first CGA-sanctioned event win when teaming up with longtime playing partner Patrick Brady to finish as champions of the organization’s 51st annual Carolinas Four Ball tournament.

Less than two weeks later, Harwell ventured out on his own to finish first in the prestigious George L. Coleman Senior Invitational.

It was just the teeing off of a season that also saw him prevail four more times as well.

Harwell collected the grand prize trophy up for grabs at the CGA’s 59th annual Carolinas Senior Amateur as well as the 35th N.C. Senior Amateur, the National Senior Hall of Fame and the CPGA Senior Fall Final.

He was also able to extend his fairway efforts into national fields as well.

Harwell advanced as far as the quarterfinal round of the 2019 United States Senior Amateur Championship, a feat that also secured him an exemption into this year’s competition as well.

A special video display was broadcast during the awards presentation that was used to highlight Harwell’s efforts.

The Richard S. Tufts Awards were created in 1997 to honor the Carolinas amateur golfers who had exceptional individual tournament performances during the preceding year. The awards namesake served on the CGA Executive Committee from 1926-64, filling the role of President from 1931-33.

The awards are presented to deserving recipients based on the CGA amateur ranking at the end of the calendar year in seven categories. The Senior’s Men division was implemented in 2001.

Eight previous CGA men’s Player of the Year are current and/or former members of the Professional Golf Association, while seven women’s winners have competed on the Ladies Professional Golf Association Tour.

This year’s award recipients were feted during the CGA Golf Night and the CGA Annual Meeting held at The Carolina Hotel in Pinehurst.{/div}

Recommended for you